Everything To Know About IES Exams

Everything To Know About IES Exams

Are you are looking everywhere on the web about IES examinations, then stop looking and read this blog. Indian Engineering Services (IES) exams remain the most sought-after career for engineering graduates in India. The Engineering Services Examination, commonly known as ESE, is conducted annually by UPSC to recruit engineers in four domains, namely Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, Electronics, and telecommunications, for technical managerial posts. The UPSC ESE 2025 notification has been released, and a total of approximately 167 vacancies are to be filled through the UPSC ESE 2025. It's a golden opportunity for aspiring engineers to secure highly desired prominent positions within various government departments and organizations. The examination is a two-stage written examination (Prelims & Mains) followed by an interview.

IES Notification

The Engineering Services Examination (ESE) conducted annually by UPSC continues to be the preferred career choice for Indian engineering graduates. With the unveiling of the UPSC ESE 2025 notification, aspiring engineers now have the chance to secure coveted positions within various government departments. This prestigious and challenging examination is well-known for its unique difficulty level and limited positions, offering engineers the opportunity to be designated as IES 2025 class-1 gazetted officers and manage diverse technical and managerial fields.

IES Eligibility Criteria

These are the eligibility criteria for the IES examination:


An applicant needs to be one of two:

1- Citizen of India.

2- A citizen of Bhutan or Nepal.

3- A Tibetan refugee who entered India before January 1, 1962, with the goal of residing there permanently.

4- A person of Indian descent who moved to India with the goal of staying there permanently from Vietnam, Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia are examples of migrants from East Africa.

As long as a candidate falls into one of the categories mentioned above (2), (3), or (4), they will be the one in whose favor the Indian government has given an eligibility certificate.

Age Limit

To be eligible for this exam, an applicant must be at least 21 years old and not older than 30 on January 1, 2025; in other words, the candidate must have been born between January 2, 1995, and January 1, 2004.

IES Exam Pattern

The Preliminary Examination, Main Examination, and Personality Test are the three stages of the ESE 2025 examination procedure:

1- Preliminary Examination: In the first exam, candidates are tested on General Studies and Engineering Aptitude; in the second paper, they are tested on the specific engineering disciplines. Each paper has a total of 500 marks and lasts for two or three hours accordingly.

2- Main Examination: The main exam consists of two papers centered on the candidate's engineering discipline. Each paper is three hours long and worth three hundred marks. The total number of points awarded for the primary exam is 600.

3- Personality Test: Those who pass the Main and Preliminary Exams go on to the Personality Test, which is the last phase. There are 200 marks at this level.

The final list of ESE 2025 contains qualified individuals who have passed every round of the application process, indicating their successful admission into a fulfilling career in engineering services.

IES Syllabus

There are two written tests for the UPSC IES (Indian Engineering Services) exam: the preliminary exam and the final exam. The preliminary examination consists of two papers. Paper 1 will test candidates on general studies and engineering aptitude, which is the same for all applicants. The second paper will feature questions that are stream-based. There will be two descriptive exams in the main exam, one for each engineering discipline. We will go over the UPSC IES syllabus according to Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, Electronics, and Telecommunication since the exam is discipline-specific.

IES Exam Date

The IES 2025 application form is anticipated to be made available by the Union Public Service Commission during the first week of September 2024. In the first two weeks of May, the Commission is anticipated to announce the official UPSC test calendar for 2025. The application and exam dates for the IES 2025 exam will be made public by the Commission in the official exam calendar. It is anticipated that the IES 2025 exam will take place on February 16, 2025.


In conclusion, the Indian Engineering Services (IES) exams are highly competitive and prestigious, offering aspiring engineers an opportunity to secure coveted positions within various government departments and organizations. With the release of the UPSC notifications, candidates can now apply for the examination. However, to be eligible for the exam, candidates must meet specific criteria, and the selection procedure involves a two-stage written examination (Prelims & Mains) followed by an interview. To learn more about the IES examination and any other exams, you can stay tuned to our daily blog on our website, SSSi Blogs. SSSi is one of the best online IES class providers in the whole market with benefits like best quality content, experienced teachers, pricing, 24*7 customer support, tests, and reports of students. To learn more about these classes, visit our website, IES Exam Online Preparation Coaching, Exam Eligibility, Latest Update Notifications

Copyright © 2024 SSSI. All rights reserved.